Oregon Title Support
How To Sign An Oregon Title
Click Image To Enlarge
Click Image To Enlarge
1. On the front of the title at the very top, there are boxes where various vehicle information should be recorded. Each box is clearly labeled, and includes things like the vehicle’s make, model and VIN. To the lower right of this section, the owner’s information should be printed or typed. To the right of the owner’s information, the odometer reading must be recorded.
2. The bottom half of the front page is reserved for lienholder information. If there are no liens on the sale, leave this section blank and proceed to the backside of the title.
3. On the back, there is a section midway down the page labeled “Reassignment.” In this section, the date of sale should be printed, along with the buyer’s name and address. The odometer reading should be recorded just below this, with the appropriate checkbox marked if there is a discrepancy in the mileage.
4. Below the odometer reading, the seller(s) name(s) and signature(s) must be filled in. Oregon provides spaces for up to three sellers. The seller’s address must also be printed, only if it differs from the address printed on the front of the title.
5. Once all the above sections have been filled out, the buyer must print and sign their name to complete the document.
6. If there is a new lienholder on this sale, their information goes at the bottom of the back page, just below the buyer’s name and signature.
- Oregon’s title is split in such a way that both sides of the title should be examined closely. Ensure that all fields are filled in that are required and that nothing is skipped.
- The lien section on the front should be left entirely blank if there are no liens on the sale.
- Oregon requires that the transfer title be submitted within 30 days of vehicle sale. Failure to do so will void the document and carries a fine of $50 for a late transfer fee.
Haven't donated yet? We can help you find a fantastic Oregon nonprofit to donate to.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: When do I cancel my insurance?
A. Only cancel your vehicle's insurance AFTER your vehicle has been picked up and you have notified the state that you’ve donated your vehicle. If your state requires notification, please be aware that you should never cancel your insurance prior to reporting to the state you are no longer in possession of the vehicle. This is a general rule for States/Motor Vehicle Departments that require Notification be submitted or license plates returned.
Q: Who is considerd the purchaser of my vehicle donation? Is it the nonprofit or charity?
A. The purchaser of your donated vehicle is NOT the nonprofit or charity. It will either be the vendor or Charitable Adult Rides & Services, the vehicle donation program provider and partner of your nonprofit of choice.
Q. What is State Notification?
A. State notification releases the vehicle donor from liability over the vehicle, including registration fees and from having to keep the vehicle insured, after the vehicle is picked up. State notification is a way for the state to create a record that the owner is no longer in possession of the vehicle. The steps needed to release your liability of a donated vehicle vary by state.
Q. Who is supposed to take care of the state notification process?
A. If state notification is required, only the donor and/or owner of the vehicle can complete this process. Please do not rely on the pick-up driver or vendor to report to the State/Motor Vehicle Department that you are no longer in possession of the vehicle. If you need support, please contact the vehicle donation support team at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 855-500-7433. We would be happy to assist you.
If you have additional questions, please visit our vehicle donation FAQS.
If you would like assistance with your vehicle donation, please contact us here.
For more information on vehicle release or general DMV questions, contact your local Motor Vehicle Division.
For additional support, please email us and include your Stock # and contact information.