Idaho DMV Vehicle Transfer | Vehicle Donations

Title Transfer

Idaho

Notice of Transfer of Vehicle is REQUIRED within 5 calendar days from the vehicle pick-up date.

Notice of Vehicle Transfer


There are 2 ways in Idaho to notify the ITD-DMV that you have donated your car: in person or by mail. Currently, there is no option available online. You can find more information and forms for each notification method below:


1. TO COMPLETE THE NOTICE OF RELEASE OF LIABILITY FORM IN PERSON:

  • Please complete and print the Notice Release of Liability Form.
  • Attach a check or money order for THREE DOLLARS and FIFTY CENTS ($3.50) made payable to your local county assessor motor vehicle department.
  • Submit completed form and payment to your local County Assessor Motor Vehicle Department.
    Click HERE to locate your local field office.

Access Form


2. TO COMPLETE THE NOTICE OF RELEASE OF LIABILITY FORM BY MAIL:

  • Please complete and print the Notice Release of Liability Form.
  • Attach a check or money order for THREE DOLLARS and FIFTY CENTS ($3.50) made payable to your local county assessor motor vehicle department
  • Mail Notice of Release of Liability Form and check or money order to your local County Assessor Motor Vehicle Department.
    Click HERE to locate your local field office.

Department of Motor Vehicles
Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability
Motor Vehicle Division Unit
P.O. Box 942859
Sacramento, CA 94259-0001

Access Form



LICENSE PLATES


Please remove your vehicle license plates upon sale or transfer. You may transfer the plates through a DMV office to another vehicle you own.


PLEASE BE ADVISED:


The purchaser of your donated vehicle is NOT the charity. It will either be the vendor or Charitable Adult Rides & Services.
For more information on vehicle, contact your local Motor Vehicle Division:

Idaho Transportation Dept.
Division of Motor Vehicles
3311 W State Street - P.O. Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129
>
Phone: 208.334.8658
Fax: 208.334.8658—Title/Dealer Operations
ITD-DMV Website

Next Step: Notifying Your State



Please be advised: The purchaser of your donated vehicle is not the charity. It will either be CARS (Charitable Adult Rides & Services) or Auction.

Find out what’s required by your state to ensure that you are no longer the registered owner of your donated vehicle. Please complete all requirements for your state within the expected timeframe. Some states do not have corrections for error, and may require a duplicate title to fix, so please reach out to us for guidance if you have a question.

To make it easier for you to learn about the notification requirements for your state (i.e. the state where the vehicle was registered before it was donated), we’ve put together a list of each state’s notification requirements.

Please also be aware of the following:


1. Depending on the state, you may or may not need to fulfill State Notification Requirements to prove that you are no longer the registered owner of your vehicle now that it’s been donated.
2. Many states have specific State Notification Requirements and these requirements tend to differ from state to state. For example, some states may require the license plates be returned to the DMV, while others require a Release of Liability or a Notice of Sale/Transfer be submitted.
3. Many states require the notification be completed within a specific timeframe.
4. The date when the vehicle is picked up is the date it is no longer in your possession; however, this does not transfer the ownership out of your name.

Thank you for your vehicle donation!
Next Step: Notifying Your State